Oh Chanel, say it isn’t so!

I bring sad news today. My favorite design house of all time, Chanel–has for the first time in my life, failed me. In recent years, a certain, hideous line of purses have been popping up on soccer moms and that girl from high school who lived in her Sperrys and Clarks. My Aunt has tried to buy me one, we’ve all seen them…..

Vera Bradley purses.

 

vera-bradley-handbags1They look like something someone’s grandmother would make as a hobby. It’s that gift you’d accept with a smile, then leave it in the back of your closet to be lost forever. I’m very proud of my own grandmother for not carrying one of these bags. She’s currently toting around a Hayden Harnett for Target bag and that is why I love her, but I digress… 

I just dislike the sewing circle-esque patterns and the overall construction of the bags. 

Not ten minutes ago I discovered something that will probably forever haunt the fashion obsessed side of my brain.

Click to find out what is haunting my dreams…..oh Karl…why?

chanel_bandanaYes, this bag is adorned with the two interlocking C’s that make up the Chanel logo. Yes, this photo is off the website and it isn’t some cruel joke by a Photoshop professional. It resembles a bandanna more so than the Vera Bradley bags, but you can’t say it doesn’t look almost exactly the same. True, the straps are more constructed, the fabric is woven through chain and it doesn’t appear to have an exposed top zipper. 

But I still don’t think  that any of my fashion idols would even use this as a dirty, sandy beach bag. Well, at least I hope they don’t. Even if they do, I won’t be able to make myself like this.

I must remember the ultimate rule, just because it’s designer does not mean it looks good.

And I’m out. 

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Oh Chanel, say it isn’t so!

  1. canwepleasestopandreflect says:

    Oh Chanel! Why????

  2. Brigid Catherine says:

    ew, all of my cousins buy those bags, I am so glad that fad never came to my town! they sell them at the grocery market…but i don’t think I know anyone who has bought them besides my cousins in New York.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

