Modern Shapes with Classic Patterns

I couldn’t quite think of a proper title for this. I’m speaking exclusively about modern shapes, but I’m loving those shapes with girly florals, pretty lace, bold prints, and of course; classic patterns. I know I’m being somewhat broad, but so what….I like it.

I think it all started when I saw Prada’s Spring 2011 collection and that striped skirt that has now become somewhat of a legend. And most of all, look at what it’s paired with. This is what I’m talking about, a bold top with hard lines. No draping, ruffles or frilly anything. It just has that beautiful classic baroque pattern, and paired with a bright, striking, fitted pencil skirt. It’s a new age of fashion. Miuccia herself called it “minimal baroque” which is the perfect way to describe what I’m thinking about but I couldn’t steal her description for my title now could I? Whoa run on sentence.

And then Stella McCartney had Spring 2011 RTW collection which featured bold colors and my favorite, that awesome fruit dress. Her Resort collection not long before that had similar pieces, but with huge floral patterns. I love the fruit.

But then I’m also loving these kind of pieces but with smaller florals and lace. I think it’s also more attainable. Like this:

 

Forever 21 has a great floral lace moto jacket, and I think it is the perfect piece to use to subtly mix patterns. The fitted jacket, fitted skirt, simple tights and sky high wedges are all in bright, classic colors and patterns.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

