American Apparel Nail Laquer Review

Fueling my obsession with nail polish, many retail stores are branching out into the world of beauty. Cosmetics are becoming as trendy as clothing, and nail polish is on the forefront of said trend because of the crazy and creative manicures we’ve seen on the runways and on the likes of Katy Perry and Rihanna.  It’s also good from a marketing standpoint, a nice display with a fun array of colors right there on the counter. It’s hard not to buy some when they’re 3 for $15 which was the case today at American Apparel.

20110703-123215.jpg

L’Espirit – Neon Orange – California Trooper

The first thing I liked was the selection of colors. They have your classic red, basic colors like nude and black, then a nice array of more interesting tones ranging from a lovely turquoise shade to a great mustard yellow (which I have to go back and purchase, as mustard is my favorite color.) I think my favorite thing about American Apparel is their color choices, despite all the controversy and snootiness, it’s those muted tones and deep shades that keep me coming back.

I went with the three shown above, I didn’t want to go overboard and purchase every color I liked in case the polishes were just terrible. I did this at Urban Outfitters and after needing about ten coats I had lost my patience. L’Espirit and California Trooper are amazing. They are thick and glide on easily, needing only one coat. L’Espirit is a beautiful pale lavender that is interesting yet subtle. California Trooper is a lovely tan,  it reminds me of clay and those days in ceramics class where my nails would be coated in it and I’d stare at my hands wishing there was a polish in that color. Now there is, and it’s probably my favorite ever due to the fond memories it brings.

The neon orange is…..tricky. I’ve read that neon polishes are somewhat difficult when it comes to application and staying power, but it’s just a trend and not something I’ll need for year round or consistent wear. It takes several coats for opaque color, and a steady hand. It’s kind of gloppy, which is the only word I can think of to describe it. I had a lot of cleaning around the nail to do once I was done, and once I saw my nails in natural light I realized I still hadn’t applied enough. I suggest using somewhat quick strokes and be careful not to have too much polish on the brush to get it perfectly even. I now understand why Cupcakes & Cashmere has a How-To on neon nails.

In the end, I would definitely recommend AA’s nail polish, it’s cheap and easy *insert joke here* and has great color payoff. I’d recommend the neon polish if you have some patience and skill (and short nails, long nails with neon goes from daring to scary.)

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “American Apparel Nail Laquer Review

  1. Christy says:

    I love neon nail polish in the summer but yea it is best to get it done in a salon otherwise it is a streak fest waiting to happen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

