Jason Wu for Target: Fast Fashion for the Hungry Masses

So Jason Wu for Target came out today and can I just say, “whoa.” Seriously.

I’ve shopped Target’s designer collections before, but I’ve never gone on the first day. It was not what I expected. I knew people got excited and showed up early, but I was picturing a few chic sleepy girls calmly picking out their favorite pieces and going on their way. Not at all. It was insanity like I’ve never seen. We’ve all seen the high-end designer sample sales where people line up for hours, rush inside and nearly fight with each other over that season’s hottest piece. But this happening at a Target in the suburbs? Fast Fashion may not be as wonderful as I previously thought.

Fifteen Minutes In

I woke up bright and early, made my way out to my nearest Target just a few minutes after it opened and there was nothing. People had lined up an hour or so before (7am on a Sunday does not exist to me) and rushed inside once the doors opened. I spoke to some of the girls shopping and some of the employees to find out what I’d missed. Some of the first people in were eBay sellers. They grabbed handfuls, ran to the registers and spent thousands of dollars. Everyone else just began snatching up what they wanted. I overheard one frantic girl say, “I’m just grabbing my size, not things I like.”

The fitting room line was SERIOUS

 After wandering around the now barren Jason Wu corner, I made my way over to the fitting rooms. People had lined up with carts full, employees were calling out when a room opened up and the next girl would race in. Girls were climbing over the counter and grabbing for the items that needed to go back, employees were calling out when someone gave up a popular item. One found a scarf and held it up, five girls jumped at her in an attempt to snatch it. Once everyone had gotten in,  a group of girls had gathered around like vultures waiting to take pieces people didn’t want. Several of them recognized each other from the Missoni release and began comparing finds. These girls were clinging to this stuff like they’d discovered treasure.

Some of these people had never heard of Jason Wu before his Target line was announced. So why all the insanity and obsession? A majority of these girls didn’t even really care about fashion, they just liked the excitement and the accessibility to something hyped up to be rare and limited. I managed to find one of the satchels that someone had left behind and planned on buying it as a souvenir, but gave it up to a girl who came up to me in tears and asked if I was seriously going to buy it.

But I did get a lovely red blouse, and that is it for me.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Jason Wu for Target: Fast Fashion for the Hungry Masses

  1. Ewww. This is exactly why I can’t get into the designer collab feeding frenzies. What’s funny is that after all of the TargetxMissoni hype, I rarely see anyone blogging about, much less wearing anything from that collection. I bought a pair of leggings on clearance and I almost feel like the trend is dead now, which is sort of is.

  2. olivia says:

    You should have seen H&M on the day Versace hit. The women’s section was organized and easy. Though a little picked over, we had only lined up 2 hours before the store opened, and we still had plenty of options and got almost everything we wanted because they had given wristband with time slots for shopping. However, the men’s section (which, unlike the women’s was unregulated) was full of angry queens snatching and scratching like, well, I don’t really have a good similie. But you get the idea. It had been totally ravaged. I think H&M learned their lesson: that just as many men want cheap, designer fashion as women.

    • Which H&M did you go to? Queens will totally fight over something before girls will, it even happens at work and I’m like “Whoa…this is an $8 Forever 21 shirt, ladies relax.”

Leave a comment