NY Fashion Week Favorites

There were so many wonderful collections at NY Fashion Week that I’m ready for it to be spring again! I’ll have to go back and look at some Fall ’09 collections to get myself back in the present. With this post, I bring you my favorites from the Spring 2010 RTW collections. I loved practically everything, but have narrowed it down to just the few that I don’t think I can live without.

Marc by Marc Jacobs

MarcbymarcJacobsAt Marc by Marc Jacobs the runway was filled with a bevy of bright prints and wonderful color combinations with an ’80s punch. There was not a dull look to be found. Paired with nearly every bright look was a large, bright bow. It’s taking Blair Waldorf to the next level.

Proenza Schouler

ProenzaSchoulerThe looks at Proenza Schouler were very sporty-chic, but definitely more chic than sporty. The colors were rich and the tailoring beautiful. Some of the looks reminded me of something Sonic Youth’s Kim Gordon would wear.

Naeem Khan

NaeenKhanBeautiful but edgy is the best way to describe Naeem Khan’s Spring 2010 collection. Rich, bold colors and beautiful gowns made up the collection. There was such variety, it was hard to choose one photo. I’m not saying that is a bad thing, at all. There wasn’t too much variety to where you couldn’t see the general idea they were going for, but there was enough to keep things interesting. Did I mention all the looks were just beautiful?

Rodarte

RodarteLaura and Kate Mulleavy of Rodarte will never cease to amaze me. I mentioned Kim Gorden earlier when I talked about Proenza Schouler, and just before writing this, found out she’s a Rodarte fan. Awesome. The collection is very tattered, post-apocalyptic grunge. The fake tattoos lend a tribal feel and the dark makeup brings the whole thing together. They’ve collaborated with Nicholas Kirkwood again for the fabulously edgy, studded shoes. Rodarte continues to be one of my faves.


One thought on “NY Fashion Week Favorites

  1. themagnificentb says:

    I love Proenza Schouler and I’m so glad you included them! They were featured on this Sundance doc “The Day Before” which followed them as they prepared for one of their fashion shows and it gave me so much respect for them. They seemed so humble, hard-working, and not the least bit egotistical or jaded. Karl Largfeld was also followed in another episode and he kiiinda seemed like a dick. So kudos to Lazaro and Jack for seeing so cool and passionate about what they do. That’s the one thing that struck me the most about them: their passion.

Leave a Reply

