How To: Make A Sweatshirt Chic

It is finally cooling down in New Orleans; and by “cooling down” I mean below 70 degrees. Now we can really begin to work with layering, which is key in this city/region.  I won’t lie, I love to be comfortable and I’m also rarely willing to risk that comfort for the sake of fashion. But it presents me with a challenge, and I love a challenge. So I’m taking the ultimate in comfort, a men’s crewneck sweatshirt and glamming it up.

 

 Option 1:

 Pardon me for going all dark, but I have to.  This one is about playing with texture, especially when you’ve got a lot of one shade. The sweatshirt itself is super simple, so you want a pleated maxi skirt and some sky high killer boots. Toss a bright belt over the sweater for a pop of color on top of all the bleak black, and add a floppy wool hat to play off the flowy skirt.

 Option 2:

I went to the next level of fabulous for this one. Grab a crisp white button up (a definite wardrobe must have) and put the sweater on over it, with the collar on the outside. Add a chunky bib necklace to keep the white/grey combo from getting too boring. I love these printed shorts, they are the ultimate way to play up more simple pieces. Finish it all off with a bright loafer. Best part, when you remove the sweater you’ve got a chic and polished outfit underneath.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “How To: Make A Sweatshirt Chic

  1. Love these looks, although I walked out the house in a wool sweater this afternoon and immediately went back inside to change into something less warm. *sigh*

  2. I touched those J-Cambs at Trash & Vaudeville on St Marks the other day and they are literally sharp to the touch. Like will slash a bitch. And a flowy skirt.

  3. Laet'li says:

    I did the sweatshirt thing Thursday with a black and white striped H&M mini, ripped black tights and my grey wool Steve Madden platform stilettos.

  4. olivia says:

    Is it wrong that I still cut the necks out of them and do the off the shoulder thing? I know that look has had it’s day, but it makes me feel a little sexy, which aint always easy in a four dollar hanes sweatshirt. What do you think? honestly?

Leave a Reply

